Wonderland – time out!

Where is your happy place? Mine is somewhere in my own little wonderland. The place where my mind is free to run and discover, without inhibitions or second guessing. It is beautiful chaos. It is when I write, and dream without thinking twice, but allowing everything to pour forth.

Have you ever had writers block? If you write, I am sure you have. As have I. I strongly believe that we are our worst enemies, and above all our own worst critic. We start critiquing ourselves even before we have written one single word down. What we need to remember, is that it´s not supposed to be perfect, or even strive to be (at least not before you have written it down first). I know, I am a perfectionist and I can´t stand it when I have written something or posted something that I later notice contain a spelling error, or any other error in my written language.
IMG_1249
We need to allow ourselves the wonder of simply letting loose. Allow all your thoughts to crawl out of the depths of your consciousness and onto paper (or screen as it were…), and THEN you are allowed to edit. Find your happy place. Turn off any disturbances, and find your Zen.

I´m off to wonderland to do some final touches on my book, “Reborn”, which by the way, is my fifth read through, and I am still finding heaps of mistakes. But, on the flip side, I like the intent, and I am happy about the story itself. Possibly because I allowed myself to just write, without scrutiny – the first time around.

It might mean you need to put in some more work, editing wise, but if you hand´t, you would´ve probably dismissed some of your best ideas before you even took the time to write them down as a note.

So, loose that frown, and forget about rules and conventions, just for a while. Then, find out what your mind is truly harboring!

I wish you a creative session!

 

 

 

About linntesli

I am a Norwegian writer, author of the Reborn series, and a social worker. I love to write, and it has been a passion of mine ever since I knew how to put pen to paper. I hope my love of magic and make-believe will touch the spirit of others out there, who share my passion for fantasy, or just the need to read :)
This entry was posted in Inspirational updates, Lynn Tesli, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

