Pen name

IMG_4715

This image is the property of © Linn Horn Stokke

I have a confession to make, which really isn’t much of a confession because I haven’t tried to hide it. My real name is not Lynn Tesli, but it is the pen name that I chose, and it is a family name.

There are a lot of reasons why an author chooses a pen name. One being that they want to hide their real identity. Years back, women would choose a man’s name, for the obvious reasons. Luckily, I don’t have to worry about the same issues as those women did.
Hiding my identity is not my reason.

My reasons are based on:

– the fact that my name is easily confused as belonging to someone else. It is simply too generic a name in Norway.
– The other reason is that I think my pen name is more readable to English speaking readers out there, and I want to reach all of you.
– Yet, a third reason is that I am also writing in Norwegian, and I want to be able to publish in different genres. Writing fantasy for adults, and writing children´s books don’t necessarily mix. I might choose a different name if I was ever to write for kids (which I hope to do eventually).

A lot of great authors have used one or more pen names, and so, why shouldn’t I?

Do you have a pen name?
If you do, do you want to share?
If you don’t, what would it be?

– Write on peeps!

About linntesli

I am a Norwegian writer, author of the Reborn series, and a social worker. I love to write, and it has been a passion of mine ever since I knew how to put pen to paper. I hope my love of magic and make-believe will touch the spirit of others out there, who share my passion for fantasy, or just the need to read :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

