writers block

Blank pages: check
Self doubt: check
Writers block: check

I haven’t been able to write a thing since the beginning of last week. Not because I haven’t wanted to but because I’ve kept making excuses. I don’t have time, I’m tired, there is so much else that I need to get done… and so on. At every turn I have made the decision to prioritize something other than my writing. Perhaps I needed the time out? I seem to immediately dismiss every word and sentence I put on paper – self doubt for sure. Perhaps I’m at that place every writer visit from time to time – writers block avenue. That’s OK! It is natural and it is more than possible to shake off.

Now, all I have to do is look at myself in the mirror and say: You CAN! Eventually I’ll believe it again.

IMG_7018

I had my first feature story published today (YAY!) and I am biting my nails. I keep thinking about whether my true intentions translated to the page, whether it is being perceived as I had envisioned or whether people will take it the wrong way. I think I should have swopped some words around, because words are powerful and the wrong ones have consequences. This is not figments of my imaginations where I can be creative and inventive as I can when writing fantasy, poems or short stories. This story is my own personal opinion – and opinions vary. Maybe I was waiting for the story to be printed before moving on to writing other pieces again? Either way I should try to look at it from the bright side – It got printed! My words, my text… proves I COULD, which means I still CAN!

I am adding a link to my feature story for those of you interested. It’s in Norwegian. For those of you who don’t speak the language, the topic is about violence against children and how we distinguish between adults and children as though they were not equally as much worth as each other, plus how the justice system keep failing our children. It is definitely an issue close to my heart.

http://www.dagsavisen.no/nyemeninger/alle_meninger/cat1003/subcat1018/thread306970/#post_306970

Anyway, this week is packed, so we’ll see how much writing gets done 😉 Luckily I have an interview today, which means I am getting back on the horse, which is what you should do every time you fall off.

– Yes! You CAN too!

About linntesli

I am a Norwegian writer, author of the Reborn series, and a social worker. I love to write, and it has been a passion of mine ever since I knew how to put pen to paper. I hope my love of magic and make-believe will touch the spirit of others out there, who share my passion for fantasy, or just the need to read :)
This entry was posted in Articles, Inspirational updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

