What inspires you?

We all find our inspiration in different places. Me, I turn to the fairytales, old sagas, myth, interesting people and constructive feedback. I thrive when my opinions are being debated, and I deeply appreciate it when people comment on my writing (HINT 😉 ). There is one particular enterprise who was a big part of my childhood and has followed me into adulthood. It has been my escape, my dreamworld, my comfort and a source of inspiration.

IMG_0510What enterprise, you ask? Right, so I am, hand on heart, a sucker for Disney films! Yes, I know, I’m too old for Aladdin and Cinderella (NOT). Nonetheless, I love it, always have. I have to say though, that it has been a long time since Disney made an animated film as good as Frozen (in my opinion). Aside from the fact that it puts Norway (my home country) on the map, the story is compelling and in ways original. I actually choked up early on in the film. As with many other Disney films, the heroes or in this case heroines loose their parents. Heartbreaking, but effective. Also widely known to be an effectual aspect of many fantasy novels.

As an adult I often wonder about the impact of these films on children. I think of all the horrifying scenes in various Disney films and wonder if I can allow my own child to watch them? Then again, I never considered this growing up and I’m pretty sure it didn’t damage me… much. At least no more than all the things that actually happened in real life. Dumbo is probably the one I have the most reservations about – His mother gets taken away for protecting him, he is bullied, and he even gets drunk and hallucinate. Really Disney, what ere you thinking when you made that scene? We need to appeal to the adults as well? How is this family friendly on any level? Still, Dumbo continues to be one of the many beloved Disney-hits with a catchy theme tune.

Now, back to Frozen, aside from the storyline it has a great soundtrack, particularly Let it go, which I listen to all the time – as if it was made for me 😉 This is nothing new from Disney. They always knew how to create the mood with music. In Frozen, however, it seems to be about strength and another kind of love than we are used to from the Disney enterprise. As a sister, I can relate. The female characters are inspiring, original and flawed. The backdrop is beautiful of course (Can’t go wrong with Norwegian scenery).Norge_Lake_II_by_SViRU

The scriptwriters truly did an amazing job! This is one of those stories where you might think, oh, I wish I had thought of that story or one like it. Well, someone did, and it’s up to you to create your own. Don’t try to copy, just write your heart out. If we write with passion and conviction I believe our work will be at its best. On the other hand, there is nothing wrong with finding inspiration from others. Frozen inspired me to write while imagining my own country, how it stretches and bends. I am inspired by the nature, the feeling, the sentiment and strong heroines!

My own book, Reborn, has both male and female main characters, but the true hero in my book is a female with no magical powers. An unlikely hero in ways, much like Anna in Frozen, though completely different.

tumblr_lqw20jjPQE1qhfaz9I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of watching Disney. People can say what they want and I know that the Disney enterprise is often criticized. Why wouldn’t it be? When something is that big of an industry, people are bound to be opinionated as well they should be. Criticism is good! It is what makes us learn and work harder, it is a source of inspiration and a fuel to keep doing what we love!

Write on peeps 🙂 Keep that fire burning in the frost!

What inspires you? I would love to hear your comments 🙂 as always!

About lynntesli

I am a Norwegian writer, author of the Reborn series, and a social worker. I love to write, and it has been a passion of mine ever since I knew how to put pen to paper. I hope my love of magic and make-believe will touch the spirit of others out there, who share my passion for fantasy, or just the need to read :)
This entry was posted in Inspirational updates and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

